Island Life   

    the community website serving the Channel Islands                                                                       celebrating 18 years 2000 - 2018




Public Holidays Jersey 2010 - 2012

The expected dates of bank and public holidays in Jersey for the years 2010-2012 inclusive are listed below.

There is no statutory right to time off for bank and public holidays. Any right to time off or extra pay for working on a bank holiday depends on the terms of an employee's contract of employment. 




2011 2012

New Year's Day

1 Jan

1 Jan

3 Jan  2 Jan

Good Friday

10 Apr

2 Apr

22 Apr 6 April

Easter Monday

13 Apr

5 Apr

25 Apr 9 April

Early May Bank Holiday

4 May

3 May

2 May  7 May
Liberation Day 9 May 9 May 9 May 9 May

Spring Bank Holiday

25 May

31 May

30 May 4 June
Diamond Jubilee Holiday       5 June

Summer Bank Holiday

31 Aug

30 Aug

29 Aug 27 Aug

Christmas Day Public Holiday

25 Dec

27 Dec

26 Dec 25 Dec

Boxing Day Bank Holiday

▲28 Dec

28 Dec

▲27 Dec 26 Dec

Substitute Bank Holiday in lieu of 25 Dec

▲ Substitute Bank Holiday in lieu of 26 Dec

What are public holidays?

Generally, public holidays include bank holidays, holidays by Royal Proclamation and 'common law holidays'. Banks are not allowed to operate on bank holidays. When public holidays in the Christmas and New Year period fall on Saturdays and Sundays, alternative week days are declared public holidays.


What are 'bank' holidays?

British bank holidays are Public Holidays and have been recognized since 1871. The name Bank Holiday comes from the time when banks were shut and so no trading could take place.

The 1871 Act designated four holidays in England, Wales and Ireland (then wholly part of the UK), and five in Scotland. (For an historical look at Bank Holidays, please visit our Project Britain Blog.)

There are currently a total of 8 permanent bank and public holidays in England, Wales and Scotland and 10 in Northern Ireland. These include Christmas Day and Good Friday, which in England, Wales and Northern Ireland are common law' holidays (they are not specified by law as bank holidays but have become customary holidays because of common observance).

Bank Holidays in England and Wales

In England and Wales there are six bank holidays and two common law holidays.

Bank Holidays:

  • New Year's Day,
  • Easter Monday
  • May Day (not necessarily 1 May),
  • Spring Holiday at the end of May
  • Late Summer Holiday at the end of August, and
  • Boxing Day (26 December or the Monday nearest)

*Common Law Holidays (Public holidays)

* In England, Wales & Ireland, both Christmas Day and Good Friday were traditional 'days of rest' and Christian worship .. as were Sundays, and did not need to be included in the 1871 Act .. unlike for Scotland


British Summer Time

British Summer Time (BST) starts on the last Sunday in March and ends on the last Sunday in October, at 1.00 am Greenwich Mean Time (GMT):

  • in spring the clocks go forward, losing an hour - at 1.00 am GMT the UK moves to 2.00 am BST
  • in autumn the clocks go back, giving an extra hour - at 2.00 am BST the UK moves to 1.00 am GMT

In the next three years, the summer time periods begin and end on the following dates:

  2009  2010 2011
Clocks go forward 29 March 28 March 27 March
Clocks go back 25 October 31 October 30 October



Useful Link

World Public Holidays



Search the Site

Follow us on Twitter

Find us on Facebook

Follow islandlifeinfo on Twitter